FAM.png

 ALICE MILLIAT  

Her life, her fight, her legacy 

Born on May 5, 1884 in Nantes and died on May 19, 1957 in Paris, Alice Milliat was the first international leader of women's sport. She was a sportive woman, she practiced rowing at a high level and tried her hand at swimming and field hockey. 

She became President of the Femina-Sport club in 1915 and was one of the founders of the Fédération des Sociétés Féminines Sportives de France (a former Federation bringing together female sports clubs) in 1917. She became President in 1919. Faced with intertia of sports federations to include women in the sports' world, Alice Milliat thought bigger and founded the International Women's Sports Federation in 1921. 

GeebKnYg.jpeg

Alice Milliat

"Women's sport has its place in social life in the same way as men's sport" Alice Milliat, May 15, 1917

Women participation in the Olympic Games was her greatest fight. In face of the multiple refusals of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to include them into competitions, she decided to organize women's competitions. The first international women's meeting was held in Monte Carlo in 1921 and the first edition of the Women's World Games in Paris in 1922, called at that time the Women's Olympic Games. Four other World Games were organized between 1926 and 1934. In London in 1934, the event attracted more than 6,000 spectators every day. 

The sucess of these "Women's Olympic Games" is such that the IOC finally allows women to compete in the modern Olympism's king sport: athletics. The first female athletes took part to the competitions from the Olympic Games in Amsterdam in 1928. Alice Milliat was invited to be a member of the jury; the only woman surrounded by many male leaders. 

Although the IOC agreed to organize women's competitions, it also took the opportunity to put them under the supervision of federations led by men. For example, the International Women's Sports Federation was absorbed by the International Athletics Federations and died out. Alice Milliat then retired but left us a deep legacy, founder of women's sport. 

eDYvUTAg.jpeg

ALICE MILLIAT FOUNDATION

Alice Milliat, member of the jury for the athletics events at the Olympic Games in Amsterdam, 1928

A recognition step by step

"To create what she created by being a provincial and young woman from a modest background, she had to have quite a temper!"

Florence Carpentier, sports historian

In the light of her fight, Alice Milliat still remains a figure too little known in the history of sport. Some French cities and towns pay tribute to her in their own way, by naming streets or gymnasiums after her (Nantes, Bordeaux, Sainte Luce sur Loire...). The Department of Loire-Atlantique has now a "Maison des Sports - Alice Milliat", a strong symbol for the recognition of this woman, as a great player in the sport's history.

th-930x620-maison-des-sports-930x620.jpg

La Maison des Sports Alice Milliat, Nantes © Paul Pascal

ALICE MILLIAT  

Sa vie, son combat, son héritage 

Née le 5 mai 1884 à Nantes et décédée le 19 mai 1957 à Paris, Alice Milliat est la première dirigeante du sport féminin mondial. Sportive, elle pratique l'aviron à haut niveau et s’est également essayée à la natation et au hockey sur gazon.

Elle devient Présidente du club Fémina-Sport en 1915 et fait partie des fondatrices de la Fédération des Sociétés Féminines Sportives de France en 1917. Elle en deviendra d'ailleurs la Présidente dès 1919. Devant l’immobilisme des fédérations sportives à inclure des femmes dans le monde du sport, Alice Milliat voit plus grand et fonde en 1921 la Fédération sportive féminine internationale.

Alice Milliat

"Le sport féminin a sa place dans la vie sociale au même titre que le sport masculin" Alice Milliat, 15 mai 1917

Elle fait de la participation des femmes aux Jeux Olympiques son plus grand combat et devant les multiples refus du Comité International Olympique (CIO) de les intégrer aux compétitions, elle décide d'organiser des compétitions féminine Le premier meeting international féminin a lieu à Monte-Carlo en 1921 et la première édition des Jeux Mondiaux Féminins à Paris en 1922, nommés à l’époque les Jeux Olympiques Féminins. Quatre autres jeux mondiaux ont été organisés entre 1926 et 1934. A Londres en 1934, l’événement attire plus de 6000 spectateurs chaque jour.

Le succès de ces « Jeux Olympiques Féminins » est tel que le CIO autorise enfin les femmes à concourir dans le sport roi de l’olympisme moderne : l’athlétisme. Les premières athlètes y participeront à partir des Jeux Olympiques d’Amsterdam en 1928. Alice Milliat sera d’ailleurs invitée au jury des épreuves d’athlétisme de ces Jeux ; seule femme entourée de nombreux dirigeants masculins.

Bien que le CIO accepte d’organiser des compétitions féminines, il en profite également pour les mettre sous tutelle de fédérations dirigées par des hommes. La Fédération sportive féminine internationale est par exemple absorbée par la Fédération internationale d’athlétisme et s’éteint. Alice Milliat se retire alors mais nous a laissé un profond héritage, fondateur du sport féminin.

FONDATION ALICE MILLIAT

Alice Milliat, membre du jury des épreuves d’athlétismes aux Jeux Olympiques d’Amsterdam en 1928

Une reconnaissance à petits pas 

"Pour créer ce qu’elle a créé en étant une femme de province, jeune, de milieu modeste, elle devait avoir un sacré tempérament !"

Florence Carpentier, historienne du sport

Au vu de son combat, Alice Milliat reste une figure encore trop méconnue de l'histoire du sport. Certaines municipalités lui rendent à leur façon hommage, en nommant des rues ou gymnases à son nom (Nantes, Bordeaux, Sainte Luce sur Loire...). Le Département de Loire-Atlantique compte désormais une "Maison des Sports - Alice Milliat", un symbole fort dans la reconnaissance de cette femme actrice de l'histoire du sport. 

La Maison des Sports Alice Milliat, Nantes © Paul Pascal

À PROPOS DE NOUS

La Fondation Alice Milliat est la première fondation européenne en faveur du sport féminin. Abritée par la Fondation du Sport Français, elle est reconnue d’utilité publique.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • YouTube

CONTACT

Adresse: 20 rue Jean-Baptiste Pigalle, 75009 Paris

Tel: 06.03.84.37.26

E-mail: contact@fondationalicemilliat.com

Pour vous tenir au courant de nos événements, abonnez-vous à notre newsletter !